Forums » Crafting and Gathering

Stats versus Success Chance

• 259 posts
    June 9, 2018 5:59 AM PDT

This is a tough one for me to decide on. How much should your stats effect your success chances when leveling up your Tradeskills? This discussion sort of follows along lines of the racial bonuses in my previous article. While I firmly believe that races should have a bonus to Tradeskills, not anything that will throw off the balance to other races, I don’t agree that 1 or 2 specific stats should be the used as the formula for success chances. What has me questioning this is that I just started playing P99, the EverQuest Server. There will be more coming on this topic soon. I am playing as a brand-new character just starting out and I’m focusing on the Blacksmithing tradeskill as an Old School Crafter. I chose to play a Dwarf Cleric because of his wisdom bonus to success chances. The vanilla version of EverQuest used a formula for the success rate of combines based on your Intellect or Wisdom, whichever was the highest. Quote from EverQuest on Tradeskills,

“ Character stats affect all Tradeskills. Either your Intelligence or your Wisdom (whichever is the highest) will affect how often you get a skill increase. The higher the stat is, the better the chance you will get a skill improvement while Tradeskilling. “