Forums » Off-Topic and Casual Chatter

My Suggestions For Pantheon

• 54 posts
    July 12, 2017 1:13 AM PDT

I have a lot of experience with MMORPGs, and so I know what I like. Forgive me in advance for mentioning World of Warcraft so much--but I believe it is the quintessential modern-day MMORPG (which I dislike). I'm well aware that the dev team is already set in their vision for the game; and based on the FAQ, I have no complaints about their vision. Nevertheless, I still wanted to write and share this post.

1. Respectable penalties for dying

When nothing or barely anything happens after my character dies, I quickly become bored because there's no emotional investment, much like I have no emotional investment playing DOOM after hitting the keys “IDDQD.” For whatever reason, some players and game developers seem to not understand this concept. But I really do believe this is basic human psychology. If there are no genuine consequences for a player’s actions, then why should the player take any action? If there aren’t any real consequences for me running up to a dragon and smacking its nose, then the dragon may as well be a kitten or nothing at all. If there isn’t any real danger in searching a graveyard for treasure, then when I do find treasure, is it still treasure? Is the graveyard really that spooky? I know that some people think weak death penalties are “in” now, but that isn’t necessarily the case. In the game Rust (Minecraft for adults), players can assault and destroy other player’s bases and steal their items. When a player dies in Rust, other players can loot the body. Despite all this, Rust has done well (5.2 million copies sold so far). That being said, I’d love for you to keep the death penalty the way it is now: experience loss and a corpse run.

2. Mystery, secrets, and danger