Forums » Off-Topic and Casual Chatter

Favorite Fantasy/Sci-Fi literature (Top 5)

• 159 posts
    October 29, 2017 5:02 PM PDT

I don't really like to do "top x" lists, since I don't think it really does justice to the fact that lots of different works have different strenghts, or may appeal to you at different times. That said, in terms of fantasy I have little knowledge besides Tolkien. I do love Marion Zimmer Bradley, not just for The Mists of Avalon series, which I think is what she's best known for, but also for The Fall of Atlantis series and The Firebrand. Another series I loved reading was Stephen Lawhead's Pendragon.

I'm more comfortable around sci-fi, though I don't read nearly as much as I used to and I find myself catching up with classics more than exploring new authors. The Dune series by Frank Herbert is one I'd recommend for sure, but he has other shorter books such as The White Plague that I also enjoyed. Any Asimov robot story will have me hooked and yes, I even enjoyed most movie adaptations. Also by Asimov, though not so heavy on robots (for the most part), the Foundation Saga is another monumental work that I'd recommend. Bringing it closer to the present, you shouldn't miss out on Ted Chiang, the guy who wrote The Story of Your Life which was recently adapted to the movies as The Arrival (the story is better than the movie, but the movie is still pretty good).

• 334 posts
    October 29, 2017 5:45 PM PDT

I also read the Asimov sersies and not many noticed the later books he wrote to join the Robot, Empire and Foundations series into 1 long storyline.

I also want to add David Eddings and the The Belgariad and the The Malloreon series (though I found the latter more a more of the same circle)
    Then I recall reading Sherwood Smith with Inda/The Fox/King's Shield/Treason's Shore.