Forums » Off-Topic and Casual Chatter

Classic Everquest, play for free (Project1999)

• 21 posts
    April 14, 2016 7:40 PM PDT

This is probably repost but meh. 

I've been playing Project 1999 for a few years now on and off and can say its a good place to relieve those nostolgic events of classic EQ. Sure not everthing is 100% on target but its close! Right now they are on their final expansion, Velious. With generally a 1000+ people on during prime time, its a great way to pass some time while waiting for Pantheon updates and its free! They even have a PVP server.

The community is generally friendly/helpful, much grouping, and the raiding is fun. Sure it has its community issues but the devs are working their hardest to keep the game honest; remember, they are volunteering to run, troubleshoot, and host their EQ servers.

As a geek, I know too that some antivirus softwares will peg files from project 1999 but the files are harmless not viruses. You mainly have to shut off your antivirus or put in an exemption to the folder its in.

To get Titanium, you ether have to buy it from ebay, amazon, maybe steam? or torrent it from kickass torrents or another such place. Careful with the torrent sites, the files are usually legit (read the comments) but the website will flood you with tracking cookies and pop-ups and becareful of what you click on. I also suggest ether bitorrent or utorrent as your download software, but make sure you get them from their official sites.

Go here https://www.project1999.com/forums/showthread.php?t=2651 on how to get started. I'm usually on Eddrick, but I'm not on too often these days.

This isn't to draw people away from Pantheon by all means. Some of the Pantheon staff even worked on this game initially. If you never played  EQ in its prime, you might want to try this out.

My characters:

• Eddrick (53 Cleric)
    • Draxx (45 Rogue)
    • Taruto (23 Chanter)
    • Bruenur (11 Paladin)
    • Sarabellum (EC Mule)