Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

Virtual worlds get bigger (or smaller) in players minds.

• 753 posts
    January 19, 2015 7:30 AM PST

Ok - this is a "food for thought" post.

When it comes to how large, or even how real the world feels, I think there is an inescapable tie to how many decisions the game makes me make about the virtual world around me on a constant basis - combined with enough "meat" to the world (size, content) to back those decisions up.  And finally, it's not just that the game makes me make decisions, it's that it makes me use different thought patterns while making those decisions.  (I'm in enterprise and solution architecture by trade - I spend a lot of time thinking about things like "Design Patterns" - and I think there is a relationship here)

I'll use perhaps the easiest category of content to emphasize what I'm trying to say... world size / world design - with 3 different but small examples.

Example 1

I'm standing in the city and I want to go somewhere new because I just completed a Rite of Passage that has opened up new content.  I think it through, I ask around, and there are 8 different places that might be appropriate.  Each having good points and bad points about it.  That one gives me the least benefit but it's closest to civilization.... that one has huge benefits, but I'm stuck out in the wilds once I get there.  Which shall I pick?

Example 2

I'm standing out in the wilds, and I want to get somewhere else out in the wilds.  What is the best way to get there?  If I go that way, it's shorter but more dangerous - if I go that way, it's way longer, but safer.  How dangerous is dangerous, and how long is long?  Which one is better for me right now?

Example 3

I'm standing out in the wilds, and I'm burdened by stuff I need to bank.  Where's the closest bank?  How do I get there?