Forums » General Pantheon Discussion

Please don't create unnecessary bottle necks

• 49 posts
    June 17, 2019 8:26 PM PDT

In anticipation of Pantheon I started playing EQ again. I created my fav class, the enchanter and made my way through the game. The experience has been fantastic with the exception of dealing with all the bottle necks. The Veeshan's peak key, and certain epic quests have proven to be incredibly frustrating. Take for example the enchanter epic, in addition to dozen's of difficult tasks, you had to kill 3 separate mobs, each of which had a 4-7 day spawn time. In a game with hundreds of enchanters, these bottlenecks create uncessary division, anger, and frustration.

So please, as you build the game and create quests, make the challenge be the mob difficulty, not excessively long spawn timers

Cheers

• 1247 posts
    June 17, 2019 11:40 PM PDT

I remember those bottlenecks lol. I imagine we will see long quest-lines here one way or another. Will be interesting to see what VR has up their sleeves for sure. :)

This post was edited by Syrif at June 17, 2019 11:41 PM PDT
    • 124 posts
    June 17, 2019 11:48 PM PDT

To be honest, camping those mobs was part of the immersion for me, setting up a phone rotation to call in help when it popped and all that. Sure it is also a strain on real life and might not really fit in today's economy, but still i think it had charm. (aside of the fact that it prevents one of the best items for the class to be mass distributed, this ensured a more gradual way of the items entering te game.)

• 1247 posts
    June 17, 2019 11:54 PM PDT

@Decarsul Yea I can see the immersion too with that. I think there was a ton of emphasis on group-play in these situations. 

• 1714 posts
    June 18, 2019 1:18 AM PDT